Centre For Disaster Management

Centre of Disaster Management at State Institute of Rural Development, Lucknow was established in the year 2009 following letter no 35-1/2009-NDM-IV/II, dated 16 September, 2009 from Director (NDM-I) Govt. of India Ministry of Home Affairs Lok Nayak Bhawan, New Delhi. It is proposed that this centre may be registered under society Registration Act 1960 of UP for its smooth functioning under the name Disaster Management Centre, Deen Dayal Upadhyaya State Institute of Rural Development Bakshi Ka Tarab, Lucknow (DMC, DDU SIRD, UP.).

Uttar Pradesh has been hit by various Natural disasters such as flood, drought, fire, epidemics and earthquake causing severe damage to life and property and thus adversely affecting the normal life. Out of 75 districts, 30 are highly prone to floods. Drought is a regular phenomenon in Vidhyachal and Bundelkhand region. Similar is the case with epidemics. Therefore, efforts are made to minimize the impact of hazards through capacity and environment building, multi hazard preparedness, response and mitigation plan, awareness of knowledge network and sensitization of all stakeholders. Govt. of U.P. has developed a Disaster Management Centre at State Institute of Rural Development Bakshi Ka Talab, Lucknow for specialized training and research in Disaster Management. The Centre has 50 Institutes under it and thus has penetration in rural areas also. The Centre is gearing up for training and developing database for Disasters like flood, drought and epidemics.


To be center of Excellence in the field of Disaster Management.


To work as a think tank by providing expertise in the field of disasters like Flood, Drought and Epidemics through advice, training and research.


The aim of the Centre is to strengthen training facilities to enhance, competence in prevention, mitigation, preparedness and other aspects of Disaster Management.


The Disaster Management center will act as focal point at the state level for:


1. B D Choudhary Deputy Director
2. Dr S K Singh Assistant Director
3. Dr Manish Chandra Extension Training Officer
4. Mr G K Tiwari Faculty Member
5. Dr Navin Kr Sinha Publicity Assistant